## THE HISTORY OF THE TABLE ROCK POST OFFICE FROM 1861 TO 1966

Transcribed by Sharla Cerra from a history prepared in 1966 which was affixed to the Post Office counter line exhibit in the Pioneer Museum.

The following history of the Table Rock Post Office was gathered by Wm. Vondrasek, a former postmaster, from the early history of the town of Table Rock, and with the assistance of Mrs. Avis Taylor, who has resided in Table Rock for many years. Also, many other citizens contributed information for this history.

The first Post Office was established in 1861. One of the first buildings in which the Post Office operated was the C. H. Norris store, which at that time was located across the street from the city pump station, about where the Art Miers residence is now located.

The first Postmaster according to history was C. W. Giddings. M. P. Bashline was the second postmaster in 1879, and then came the following: Will L. Scism – James Carlot – Scott Linsley – Andrew Lane – Jessie Phillips – Frank H. Taylor – A. R. Kovanda – Floyd Ritchie – William Vondrasek – Vernon Sandusky – and Edward Tomek in 1964, who is now our present postmaster.

In the early days the in-coming postmaster purchased the post office fixtures from the out-going postmaster. In 1959, William Vondrasek, the postmaster at that time, asked the Post Office Department for a complete set of new Post Office fixtures and his request was granted and those fixtures are in use today in our Post Office.

Most of the old fixtures belonging to William Vondrasek were saved and when this museum was started they were brought here and assembled.

During the time served by the postmasters since 1861, the following clerks or substitute clerks worked in the Post Office – Avis Taylor – Rua Conant – Ines Madden – Mrs. A. R. Kovanda – Edwin Hinds – Rudy Zelenka – Doretta Jasa – Virginia Wright – Helen Vondrasek – Velma Ritchie – Marian Goodenkauf – Irene Wright – Marylin Clement – Erma Penkaya.

The first two rural carriers to work out of the Table Rock Post Office were Byron Wilcox on Route One and James Talbot on Route Two. Later, the Department added a third route and this was carried by Art Longwell. These routes were all carried in horse-drawn carts or buggies. A few years later, Art Longwell purchased a motorcycle and used that to carry his mail when weather would permit.

Other rural carriers were Carl Beck – Victor K. Fellers – Earl Irwin – Floyd Ritchie – Harland B. Taylor – Alvah Aylor – Norris Gold.

Substitute rural carriers were Roy Clark – Lester Taylor – Lloyd Covault – John Irwin – Lorena Taylor – Velma Ritchie – Grace Fellers – Roy Briant – Clarence Schuetz – Wilbur Buccholz.

Mail Messengers who brought the mail from and to the trains were J. C. Beck – M. B. Johnson – Ben Blecha – Rudy Senft – Foy Brown – Bea Brown.

The Star Routes that carried mail from and to the following towns – Dubois, Beatrice, Liberty, and Lincoln, Nebraska, were carried by W. A. Frank – M. J. Donahue – Joe Wopata. Substitutes were Louis Blecha – Lawrence Petrashek.